The Holidays Ruined Everything…And Other Things

Not really.   Last year that is what I said when the holidays ended, and I stepped on the scale to reveal that I had gained so much weight and I ate more cake and cried a little more before I pulled up my big girl panties  and got back on the horse so to speak.   This year the scale showed an unofficial (did not record it as it was not my official weigh in) 10 pound gain.   Friday revealed that my recorded weight was still over the 203 but it was roughly 5 pounds more than I had been a week before Christmas (my last weigh in)  The scale read 207.8 pounds back to me, and then it spit out a body fat percentage of 53.5%, that’s down from the 55% the beginning of last year but it means my body is still over 50% – FIFTY percent fat.  That’s gross.  I resolved right then and there to drop that substantially this year.

In my last post I said I would be posting updated photos but they look just like the last batch that was posted so I have opted out of posting anything for a while, until I lose those extra 5ish pounds anyways.   I have not done my  measurements but I am  doubting those have changed either considering its the same weight as the last posted pictures.  In some ways I feel as though I have failed myself, and on some level I know I have on others I know I haven’t.

Now time for the other things.

I am a crafty person, I am also cheap – incredibly cheap.   With the flu/cold season upon us, my house has fallen ill – well 2 out of 3 of us.  The crud has invaded my house and with stuffy noses and horrible coughs I sought out some home remedies.  I didn’t know where to start so I turned to my love – Pinterest.  Within minutes I found Homemade Vicks Shower Disks, they are not sold in stores anymore and I heard they worked well.  I figured ‘what do I have to lose?  some baking soda?’   I set out to make these little disks of magic.

The whole process was quite easy – other than the original post didn’t have any kind of measurements – they have amended the post but even at that it was a little iffy.  So I figured – trial and error.  I made the paste, thick and gooey.  I added some eucalyptus – no lavender or rosemary (I didn’t have any and was not going out to buy them, re: LAZY and CHEAP), put them in the oven and baked them.  Took them out, they were a failure of spectacular proportion and I couldn’t get them out of the muffin tin. So I broke them all up and started over, remade the paste, added some more eucalyptus,  put 2 muffin papers in the tin this time (2 is always better than one), re-baked them, opened the oven, almost died because of the eucalyptus wall that I hit head on, burned my hand but this batch of disks was better!  Or at least they didn’t break when removing them from the tin, added a bit more eucalyptus (hey you can never go wrong with more right?)  I let them cool, than put them in containers – sent a text to my brothers about them and went to bed.  The next day I woke up, opened one of the containers and almost died again from the wall of smell.

My brothers tell me they work really well but melt way to fast.  Now I am on a mission to make them last longer than 5 minutes (something the original post did not mention), if you are quick shower person that works well but in my house a quick shower is 10 – 15 minutes.    So if you are looking for a good alternative to the steam in a pot these are great – just be prepared for them to melt fast and wash down the drain before you are ready for them too.  I will update if I find a way to make them last longer.

Leave a Reply

